Notices
Closed Thread

Thread: How can you tell if hen is egg bound?

1. #1 How can you tell if hen is egg bound? 
    I have a pair that are on their second clutch of eggs. The hen has laid 3 eggs, her last egg being laid on 10-07-10. I would thought she would have laid more by now. I will say her first clutch she only laid 4 eggs total. So maybe she is done.
    I did pluck their feathers recently after she started to lay the second clutch. They had been in the breeding cage for awhile before they started to lay their first clutch so I knew they were due. I wanted to be sure their second eggs were as fertile as their first.
    I may have screwed up, I am feeling quilty.
    Would plucking their vent feathers cause a hen to become egg bound? I have felt of her vent and I do not feel an egg but there could be one as I am new to this. She seems to act fine but I am concerned for her.
    I need to know how to tell if they are. I am new to this so I tend to worry.
    Valerie

Quote Originally Posted by ValerieB View Post
    I have a pair that are on their second clutch of eggs. The hen has laid 3 eggs, her last egg being laid on 10-07-10. I would thought she would have laid more by now. I will say her first clutch she only laid 4 eggs total. So maybe she is done.
    I did pluck their feathers recently after she started to lay the second clutch. They had been in the breeding cage for awhile before they started to lay their first clutch so I knew they were due. I wanted to be sure their second eggs were as fertile as their first.
    I may have screwed up, I am feeling quilty.
    Would plucking their vent feathers cause a hen to become egg bound? I have felt of her vent and I do not feel an egg but there could be one as I am new to this. She seems to act fine but I am concerned for her.
    I need to know how to tell if they are. I am new to this so I tend to worry.
    Valerie
    Firstly plucking the vent feathers will not in any contribute to egg binding etc.